*CLEAN* Mason Jar Banana Custard Upside Down Pie!

It worked!  Today I invented a recipe based on a recipe I found in a waiting room at my hair salon.  Go figure, right?  The recipe was for a simple egg custard, baked in mason jars, and it called for a bunch of eggs, salt, sugar, vanilla, and milk.  But I started thinking…what happens if I sub almond milk, drop the sugar, add some fruit….the next thing I knew I had my hair in foils and a new recipe was born!

So here it is, my clean version!  This recipe makes enough for three medium sized jars (8oz).


Custard:
3 eggs
1.5 cups almond milk
1 tsp vanilla
1-2 overly ripe bananas (I used 1.5)
cinnamon
Berries, if desired (today I threw in some frozen berries)
Topping:
1 cup oats
1/4 cup almond meal (whole nuts work fine, and they don’t have to be almonds– you’ll make it into meal anyway)
1/4 cup coconut flakes (optional!)

To prepare custard:

Mash banana with fork until it becomes nearly liquid.  In a separate bowl, mix eggs and milk until almost foamy.  Add vanilla, cinnamon, and banana and mix until it’s pretty smooth.

To prepare crust:

Put oats, coconut, and almonds into food processor.  Blend until it forms a powder.

Fill each jar evenly with custard mix.  If you want to add berries, add them here.  Then top with crust mix and pat smooth.  Place the jars into a baking dish and fill the dish with boiling water–half way up the jars is probably best, but my dish was too shallow so it only came up about a quarter of the way.  Bake at 350 for about 45 minutes.  Custard and juice from berries will start to move up into the crust.

 

Enjoy!  Each jar contains 1/3 cup oats, 1 egg, 1/2 banana, a few berries, and 1/2 cup almond meal.  I calculated this at about 250-300 calories, depending on the brands you choose and what you put in it.  For instance, you could do without the coconut and slightly reduce the almond meal.   And I bet for my vegan friends, you could sub tofu for egg…maybe I’ll try it and let you know how it goes!

2 thoughts on “*CLEAN* Mason Jar Banana Custard Upside Down Pie!

Leave a Reply

