Welcome!

This blog was created for the purpose of tracking my journey as a parent, athlete, scholar, and…well, a person who is coming to consciousness about food, health, and the body.  You may be wondering what I mean by that, and quite frankly
I’m not really sure.  Follow me as I figure it out!  Please keep in mind that the choices I will be discussing are from the collective conscience of my household, and we are learning as we go.  What is right for us may not be right for another, and vise-versa: that said, nothing I write in this blog claims to be prescriptive or authoritative—you may borrow my recipes as you wish, but be mindful that as of now, they may contain gluten, nuts, dairy, and other animal products.  We do not claim to be vegan or vegetarian, nor have we positively identified any food allergies.

I am sharing this journey for my own benefit as well as the benefit of others.  This blog is not concerned with weight loss, nor does it approach the body from an aesthetic
perspective.  We come in all shapes and sizes, and from my time spent in bodybuilding, sports, and personal training I have come to realize that health happens when the mind, body, and soul stop fighting each other.  There are people who may, for whatever reason, truly need to lose weight.  There are others who measure their happiness by weight, jeans size, and bodily comparisons; I argue that as long as we measure ourselves in these ways, we will never be truly healthy.

Somehow, the conversation surrounding body image, size, and weight has been reduced to two sides: “It’s ok to be fat,” and “one should strive to be thin.”  This binary
leaves very little space for recognizing muscularity, body frame, and genetics.  It also fails to address the differences between fat and big, thin and skinny.  Terms like skinny fat address the outcome of genetically thin people who accumulate body fat.  But
terms like stocky, big-boned, and thick which are often used to describe even the healthiest athletes make skinny fat seem much more desirable.

So, here I am.  Baking bread, pureeing pumpkin, and juicing tomatoes.  (You’d have thought I’d invented fire if you could have seen me do any of these things for the first time!)  If you’re wondering why I’m doing it, how I’m doing it, or how far I’m going to take it, then please be on the lookout for my next post.  I will explain everything from start to present.  🙂

I will try to include, at the end of each post, a recipe from at least one meal I made that day.  As luck would have it, tonight our dinner was the worst one all week, but I’ll share it anyway.  As I will explain in my next post, I haven’t quite perfected the system of weekly farmers’ market shopping.  Afraid to buy too much and have it go to waste, I bought too little and was forced to cook dinner with just what I had left: not knowing what to do, I made stew.  Please keep in mind, I am not an expert!  I can (arguably) make food taste good, and I am still learning about vegetables I have always been too intimidated to bother with.  (What am I going to do with rutabegas???!!!)

Random Vegetable Stew:

two tomatoes (pureed in food processor)
two zuchinnis (ha!  I don’t even know how to spell that or make it plural…) (sliced)
a small bag of red tomatoes (whole)
a small handful of various spicy peppers I can’t even name yet (chopped)
garlic (minced)
one green bell pepper (sliced) 
a handful of green beans (really long ones…he said they were French?)

First I heated a bit of olive oil and added my chopped garlic.  After about a minute, I added the peppers and let them cook for a few minutes.  I then added my bell peppers, green beans, and zuchinni (I will know how to spell this by the time they are out of season, I swear) and let them simmer.  I transferred the entire thing to a bigger pot and added the tomato puree and potatoes, with about two cups of water.  I boiled them for a while with the lid off, and once the water cooked out a bit I put a lid on it for about 20 minutes, until the potatoes were soft.

Not going to lie…it wasn’t the best dinner I’ve made so far.  But my six year old ate it!

SH

4 thoughts on “Welcome!

Leave a Reply

